View of the sea

Created for occasionofinterest by Deborah Love

Crystal blue, as a boy,
The Tyrrhenian Sea stuck sand to my skin,
Sparkled joy in my heart.

Laughing with my father in his boat.
Shellfish collecting from tidal pools.
Laying in the warm sand with Veronaia.

Such memories I brought to the Saxon Shore,
Called by my youth.
‘Centurion do your duty, stand guard!’

And I still do,
While fat, dark bees and occasional butterflies
Dance with the Marram grass.

Shin stinging through summer seed heads,
You step over yellow flowers
That dot the dunes.

Millennia here, my bones
Beside the ever shifting sea,
Gradually becoming sand beneath your feet.

A blue brown hue, the eastern tide is often wild.
Calmed today, warm salted breezes blow
Lulled white clouds huge across the sky.

Gentle, I wonder how relentless waves,
Sighing against the shore,
Might yet show mercy and begin to take me home.

 

Winner of the Poetry section in the 2016 East Anglian Festival of Culture writing competition.

2 comments

  1. manintheyellowshirt · · Reply

    Ooo get you, winning competitions. I always said you were talented. I was right 🙂

    Like

    1. Hmm… When was that exactly? LOL. All good fun eh?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Gardeneasta

Plant lover, garden geek, organic gardener by the sea

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Found-Family

John Wreford Photographer

Words and Pictures from the Middle East

yaskhan

I dream so I write ..

poeturja

Poetry

Keene Short

Writing \ Research \ Photography

jack lee taylor

picking strings and words

Sarah Doughty

Novelist, Poet, Wordsmith

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Words on Empty Ears

Understanding someone’s way with words isn’t as simple as you think.

Wezzlehead

poetry by Robert Ford

Patrick W. Marsh

I write about monsters to understand what it is to be human.

My Name is Jamie. My Life in Prison

Letters shared with Sonni Quick

Havoc and Consequence

(overcome your fears)

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

Bonnywood Manor

Peace. Tranquility. Insanity.

Alexis Chateau

Born a Yaad | Adventuring Abroad™

thisisyouth

Travel. Climbing. Characters. True stories, well told.

The Cat's Write

Milly Schmidt

Hannah McCall

Proofreader

panoply, a literary zine

Join us here for a wide-ranging and impressive array of writing

Rebecca Sherratt

Corporate governance reporting

beautifulkindofthoughts

Colours of different thoughts

the obligatory eccentric

midnight lavender

Aston kamunde

Embrace your unrestricted nature and surrender your soul to the power of the invincible…

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

Object relations

"A Word of Substance"

Algebra Of Owls

21st Century Poetry

Short Tale Shrew

A Flash Fiction Writing Community

As it Comes

A New Era

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Diary of an Aesthete

Follow the Journey ☩𓀙𓃦☉

♥ Straight From Heart ♥

Welcome to the world of words.......

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

Les & More

Street Photography